LITTLEBLACKDOG.COM Forum Index LITTLEBLACKDOG.COM

 
LWD LWD   FAQ FAQ   Memberlist Memberlist   Usergroups Usergroups   Active Topics Active Topics   Register Register  
  Profile Profile   Log in to check your private messages Log in to check your private messages   Log in Log in  
  Who is Online Who is Online   Image Gallery Image Gallery   Chat Chat   Search Search  
  LWDGear       LBDGear  

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic     Reply to topic   LITTLEBLACKDOG.COM Forum Index » Networking
Author Message
creed
Veteran Dog
Veteran Dog


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Age: 97
Posts: 6337
Location: Exiled

Post Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 8:40 am   Post subject: Whois question Reply with quote Back to top  

I have had an IP trying to get into one of our servers today like mad (about 100 hits in an hour), and while failing, is quite annoying.

SO I did a lookup on arin's whois DB and it came back with two comapnies. Now does this mean that this IP range is registered to both comapnies and the offending customer could be from either, or is it a realtor who is then leasing their lines to a smaller one? The IP range is the following:

216.16.233.25

Atria Networks Inc ATRIA (NET-216-16-224-0-1)
216.16.224.0 - 216.16.255.255
Intown Internet INTOWN-FBRT-2 (NET-216-16-233-0-1)
216.16.233.0 - 216.16.233.255

any info would be appriciated. I'm thinking it's the second company that I need to contact but want to make sure.

_________________


The Seven faces of Creed



View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Dave Rave
Butt Sniffer
Butt Sniffer


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 1880
Location: Sydney Australia

Post Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 10:55 am   Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top  

Quote:
Atria Registrar
+1-519-593-3020
registrar@atrianetworks.com

Abuse:
Atria Abuse
+1-519-593-3020
abuse @ atrianetworks com

INTOWN-FBRT-2
Created: 2001-04-17
Updated: 2001-04-17
Source: whois.arin.net


Atria owns the bigger / mainer network
Intown would be a company (in-house) that has a smaller range.
both entries have the same abuse@ info

Intown Internet
11 Belmont Avenue West
Kitchener
Ontario
N2M 1L2
Canada
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
creed
Veteran Dog
Veteran Dog


Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Age: 97
Posts: 6337
Location: Exiled

Post Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 11:18 am   Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top  

Dave Rave wrote:
Quote:
Atria Registrar
+1-519-593-3020
registrar@atrianetworks.com

Abuse:
Atria Abuse
+1-519-593-3020
abuse @ atrianetworks com

INTOWN-FBRT-2
Created: 2001-04-17
Updated: 2001-04-17
Source: whois.arin.net


Atria owns the bigger / mainer network
Intown would be a company (in-house) that has a smaller range.
both entries have the same abuse@ info

Intown Internet
11 Belmont Avenue West
Kitchener
Ontario
N2M 1L2
Canada


ok gracias. Didn't know who would be the one to contact regarding this but its'the main retailier. Intresting

_________________


The Seven faces of Creed



View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic     Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO
All times are GMT - 8 Hours

Help us keep advertisements off this site. Donate today!