LITTLEBLACKDOG.COM Forum Index LITTLEBLACKDOG.COM

 
LWD LWD   FAQ FAQ   Memberlist Memberlist   Usergroups Usergroups   Active Topics Active Topics   Register Register  
  Profile Profile   Log in to check your private messages Log in to check your private messages   Log in Log in  
  Who is Online Who is Online   Image Gallery Image Gallery   Chat Chat   Search Search  
  LWDGear       LBDGear  

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic     Reply to topic   LITTLEBLACKDOG.COM Forum Index » Networking
Author Message
Olive
Tail-Wagger
Tail-Wagger


Joined: 04 Mar 2001
Posts: 2214
Location: chicago

Post Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:24 am   Post subject: 5.5.0 smtp;554 Relay access denied Reply with quote Back to top  

The only thing I've not tried yet is smashing everything with a mace. KB's, support forums, calls with the "experts," have gotten me nowhere.

My client (sender): SBS 2003 with Exchange, Watchguard x15 Edge.
My clients client (recipient): don't know yet.

my client can send and receive mail successfully now to everyone under the sun except for this one firm.

my client can receive mail from this problematic firm, but cannot send to them. Any attempts in sending result in:
Quote:
Your message

To: firstname lastname
Subject: RE:
Sent: Mon, 10 Apr 2006 15:12:50 -0500

did not reach the following recipient(s):
'firstname lastname' on Mon, 10 Apr 2006 15:12:51 -0500
There was a SMTP communication problem with the recipient's email server. Please contact your system administrator.
<our.mailserver.name #5.5.0 smtp;554
<firstnameLastname@recipients.domain>: Relay access denied>


Now, this firms IT dept says "we are blocking anything that comes from an IP that has the word "client" in it's dns resolution. The solution would be to have the sender fix his reverse or send mail via their ISP's SMTP server."

The mail servers reverse, to the best of my knowledge, after several outside tests, does not have "client" in it's reverse IP. All tests I have run kick back h-ip.citylocation.isp.com.

The mail server greeting announces a FQDN.

From multiple locations, I am able to send a mail to both parties using telnet, and tests using SMTPDiag from these same locations are all positive.

Other than SPF, our mail server is common RFC compliant.

MX and A records are correct.
PTR exists and per their IT advise, it does not (and never did) contain "client."

Any ideas?

_________________
i'd never join an organization who'd have me as a member
Thawte Web of Trust Notary

--wonko "I really dont know what to say exept the purpose of a lake is not to kill someone."
--maple_shaft "I AM AN ATTENTION WHORE!!!!! "
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
EdisonRex
Lead Dog
Lead Dog


Joined: 06 May 2002
Posts: 10148
Location: Not Moscow

Post Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:32 am   Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top  

client's client has a misconfigured rule file, or client is connected privately, perhaps, to client's client and because of this the SMTP server (any idea what server?) thinks it's a relay.

It's one scenario. A proper mail log from the downstream rejecter would be useful.

_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Olive
Tail-Wagger
Tail-Wagger


Joined: 04 Mar 2001
Posts: 2214
Location: chicago

Post Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:52 am   Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top  

EdisonRex wrote:
client's client has a misconfigured rule file


was my feeling

EdisonRex wrote:
or client is connected privately, perhaps, to client's client and because of this the SMTP server (any idea what server?) thinks it's a relay.

thought crossed my mind too. SMTP via Telnet and SMTPDiag all work fine though. So taking our Exchange out of the loop makes me scratch my head a little. After running through Exchange 100 times, I find nothing out of the ordinary. Nothing at all that would suggest that we are trying to relay messages through their server at least.

Don't know what the server is yet. I have placed two calls into their IT guy, no return call yet.

EdisonRex wrote:
A proper mail log from the downstream rejecter would be useful.
aye... as would a phone call back from their IT guy.

_________________
i'd never join an organization who'd have me as a member
Thawte Web of Trust Notary

--wonko "I really dont know what to say exept the purpose of a lake is not to kill someone."
--maple_shaft "I AM AN ATTENTION WHORE!!!!! "
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic     Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO
All times are GMT - 8 Hours

Help us keep advertisements off this site. Donate today!